Posted by: coastalconversations | October 6, 2011

Lady of Heaven by Kathryn LeVeque

Lady of Heaven

Dear Kristin,
I don’t know where to begin with this book? YOU WOULD LOVE IT! I LOVED it.. Couldn’t put it down – read it in 3 days!

This was such a wonderful story of Egyptian history, lure, romance, action and mystery wrapped into one. I have never read a story like this. It was so FULL!

About 5 years ago someone introduced me to the story of the Goddess Isis. I was so touched I created a facial in her honor. I used rose oils, creamy milk based products and rose quartz relaxing rollers. She was known as the Egyptian Goddess of (wait for it)..  LIFE & MAGIC!

I don’t want to give the story away but the lead male character, Fox, is so well described, so easy to envision and the epitome of what I believe someone named FOX should be and more (with a British accent!) Remind me to tell you the story of Justin Hartley (green arrow on Smallville & “FOX” on “PASSIONS” Soap opera – another PERFECT “FOX”!) So where was I?

There were at least THREE great twists that I didn’t see coming. I will admit it was a slow start for me. The author lays a lot of historical information and industry terms I had a hard time following in the first few chapters. But once the story takes off, you don’t want it to end!  Such a colorful array of characters & such a joy to read! I feel like I took a trip to the Egyptian desert!  I saw the full moon reflecting on the Nile, I wanted all the shoes & dresses at the bazaar, the castles were elegant and Heaven’s Gate is a bed & breakfast I wish to visit in England.  In addition, all the fun facts, rich descriptions and Egyptian history I learned in the process = BONUS!

“He’d always heard that visions of Heaven were only fleeting; now he knew what that meant.”

Kristin, you know how I like all the ends tied up at the end of my stories (I can’t help it, drives my husband mad!) This ending was wonderfully “full circle” and the Epilogue was an added surprise!

I REALLY wanted to like this book for a few important reasons. But that being said, this was definitely one of my favorite picks of the YEAR!  Great fall read.

Dedication..

Reasons I wanted to like this story:
1. Kathryn LeVeque is my sister in law.
2. This book was dedicated to me. Xo

Now I have to sit down with her again and drill her on the Egyptian history, lore and landmarks..

All my heavenly love to you, dear friend!
Michelle


Leave a comment

Categories